Jamie Thierman



Cosmology is a five-movement piece for woodwind quintet that depicts certain qualities of the universe. The first movement, Halley's, refers to Halley's comet. The second movement, Stately Grace, is inspired by a quote from Michael Collins: "We are gliding across the world in total silence, with absolute smoothness; a motion of stately grace which makes me feel godlike as I stand erect in my sideways chariot, cruising the night sky." The third movement is named after the constellation Musca, which represents a fly. The fourth movement, no trace of age, is inspired by the Ralph Waldo Emerson poem below. The fifth movement reflects the excitement of its title, Escape Velocity, which is about 7 miles a second.

Teach me your mood, 
O patient stars. 
Who climb each night, 
the ancient sky. 
leaving on space, no shade, no scars, 
no trace of age, no fear to die.


Click on an image to zoom.


Instrumentation: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, French Horn

Duration: 14 min. 30 sec.

Year Composed: 2008

More Like this: The Origins of the Universe for Woodwind Quintet, Falling Out for Clarinet and Bassoon, Clarpnos for 5 Clarinets (or Clarinet Choir) and Piano


Score (printed)$15.00
Score and Parts (printed)$39.00

Score (printed)

and Parts PDFs